CROSS THE STREETS – MACRO in Rome

| Ausstellungen, News

A multimedia exhibition that explores the history of the street art at MACRO – Museum of Contemporary Art in Rome.
May 7 – October 1 2017

“There is only one international vanguard that brings together the young, the marginalised and minorities in the amniotic sac of globalization: Street Art. It has many names but only one mission: to transform the city into an open-air museum.” – Paulo Lucas von Vacano

Cross the streets is a multimedia exhibition that explores the history of the street art phenomenon, the most globally influential art movement of the last 40 years. For the first time in Rome, a counterculture — by now part of the mainstream — enters a museum, the MACRO Museum of Contemporary Art in Rome. The exhibition will be on display from May 7th to October 1st 2017.

Leftside: Shepard Fairey (OBEY) / Rightside:  Mirko Reisser (DAIM) | "DAIMmonomania II" | Spraypaint and Acrylic on wall | 8 x 6 m | 2017 | Exhibition view: "CROSS THE STREETS: An exhibition of Urban Art" | MACRO Museum of Contemporary art in Rome | 6 May - 1 October 2017 | Courtesy: MACRO - Museo D'Arte Contemporanea Roma / DRAGO | Photo: MRpro

Street art is a unique avant-garde that unifies youth, minorities, and the marginalized in an era of globalization. Cross the Streets at the MACRO will present a comprehensive introspection on street art through a kaleidoscope of urban art movements, including graffiti, stencil art, pop-surrealism, photography, and film.

As studies in the last decade have shown, street art in its various forms, from graffiti writing to mural painting, has a deep influence on the collective imagination. Originating as an underground movement of youthful protest, street art has positively invaded advertising, the fashion industry, and the world at large. Cross the Streets aims to express the power of this complex and fascinating movement, highlighting its pioneers and its impact on everyday life. The exhibition will also examine street art’s role in the history of Rome from antiquity to the modern day. Cross the Streets masterfully historicizes the street art movement.

_

This exhibition project, curated by Paulo von Vacano, will fill the entire museum and include over 150 works.
Artist include 2501, Boogie, Bo130, Chaz Bjorquez, Cope2, Ray Caesar, Will Barras, Diamon, Doze Green, Ron English, Evol, Camille Rose Garcia, Fafi, Shepard Fairey (Obey Giant), Jeremy Fish, Flying Fortress, Glen E. Friedman, Galo, Hyuro, Agostino Iacurci, Invader, Mark Jenkins, Mike Giant, Moneyless, JBrock, JR, Koralie, Lucamaleonte, Microbo, Miss Van, Mosa One, Estevan Oriol, Ozmo, Pay Paloscia, Marion Peck, Pisa 73, ROA, Mirko Reisser (DAIM), Mark Ryden, Solomostry, Giacomo Spazio, Sten&Lex, Swoon, Kazuki Takamatsu, Stella Tasca, Ed Templeton, Yosuke Ueno, Nick Walker, WK Interact.

A second exhibition, ― Writing a Roma, 1979-2017, curated by Christian Omodeo, is dedicated to the relationship between Rome and Writing. The show focuses on graffiti writing in the Roman sphere through a timeline beginning in December 1979 when the Medusa Gallery presented the first graffiti exhibition outside of the U.S.
With works and photography by: Lee Quinones, Fab 5, Henry Chalfant, Napal, Brus, Jon, Koma, Rebus, Imos, Valerio Polici, Stefano Pane Monfeli, Joe Franceschi, Nico Proietti, Alessandro Scarful Maida, Emiliano Stand Cataldo.

_

A fanzine will be published for the occasion of Cross the Streets, containing interviews, art news as well as related activities and services. A Cross the Streets catalogue will also be produced by the roman publishing house DRAGO. The catalogue will contain photographs of every item on display accompanied by texts and behind-the-scenes details on the work of the curators and museum staff.

Parallel to the exhibition there will be a series of lectures on topical issues related to street art and urban art, such as artists’ rights, issues of ownership, legality and conservation, as well as iconography, semiotics in graffiti writing, and the relationship between the artist and the spectator. The series will run from May to October.

  • Opening: Saturday May 6 from 18:00 – 20:00
  • Opening Party: Saturday May 6 at 20:30
  • Open to the public: May 7 – October 1 2017

MACRO – Museum of Contemporary Art in Rome
MACRO Sala and Sala Bianca – Via Nizza 138, Rome / Italy
museomacro.org

CROSS THE STREETS – MACRO in Rom

| Ausstellungen, News

Eine multimediale Ausstellung, die die Geschichte der Street Art erkundet im MACRO – Museum für zeitgenössische Kunst in Rom.
7. Mai 2017 bis 1. Oktober 2017

“Es gibt nur eine internationale Avantgarde, die die Jungen, die Randgruppen und die Minoritäten in der Fruchtblase der Globalisierung miteinander vereint: Street Art. Sie hat viele Namen aber nur eine Mission: Die Stadt in ein Open-Air Museum zu verwandeln.” – Paulo Lucas von Vacano

Cross the streets ist eine multimediale Ausstellung, die die Geschichte der Street Art erkundet, der global einflussreichsten Kunstbewegung der letzten 40 Jahre. Zum ersten Mal wird in Rom eine Gegenkultur – die mittlerweile einen Teil des Mainstream darstellt – im Museum gezeigt. Die Ausstellung wird im MACRO Museum für zeitgenössische Kunst in Rom vom 07. Mai bis zum 01. Oktober 2017 zu sehen sein.

Leftside: Shepard Fairey (OBEY) / Rightside:  Mirko Reisser (DAIM) | "DAIMmonomania II" | Spraypaint and Acrylic on wall | 8 x 6 m | 2017 | Exhibition view: "CROSS THE STREETS: An exhibition of Urban Art" | MACRO Museum of Contemporary art in Rome | 6 May - 1 October 2017 | Courtesy: MACRO - Museo D'Arte Contemporanea Roma / DRAGO | Photo: MRpro

Street Art ist die einzige Avantgarde, die in der Ära der Globalisation die Jungen, die Randgruppen und die Minderheiten miteinander vereint. Cross the Streets wird im MACRO eine umfassende Introspektion präsentieren, die Street Art durch ein Kaleidoskop verschiedener urbaner Kunstbewegungen betrachtet: Graffiti, Stencil Art, Pop-Surrealismus, Photographie und Film.

Wie Untersuchungen der letzten Dekade zeigen, hat Street Art in all seinen Ausprägungen vom Graffiti Writing bis hin zur Wandmalerei einen großen Einfluss auf die kollektive Wahrnehmung. Einer Untergrundbewegung des jugendlichen Protests entstammend, hat Street Art die Werbung, die Modeindustrie und die Welt positiv für sich eingenommen.
Cross the Streets strebt danach, die Kraft dieser komplexen und faszinierenden Bewegung auszudrücken, indem es ihre Pioniere und ihren Einfluss auf unseren Alltag hervorhebt. Die Ausstellung wird ebenso die Rolle der Street Art in der römischen Geschichte von der Antike bis in die Gegenwart untersuchen. Cross the Streets historisiert die Street Art Bewegung auf beeindruckende Art und Weise.

_

Das Ausstellungsprojekt ist kuratiert von Paulo von Vacano und wird das gesamte Museum mit über 150 Arbeiten füllen.
Künstler sind 2501, Boogie, Bo130, Chaz Bjorquez, Cope2, Ray Caesar, Will Barras, Diamon, Doze Green, Ron English, Evol, Camille Rose Garcia, Fafi, Shepard Fairey (Obey Giant), Jeremy Fish, Flying Fortress, Glen E. Friedman, Galo, Hyuro, Agostino Iacurci, Invader, Mark Jenkins, Mike Giant, Moneyless, JBrock, JR, Koralie, Lucamaleonte, Microbo, Miss Van, Mosa One, Estevan Oriol, Ozmo, Pay Paloscia, Marion Peck, Pisa 73, ROA, Mirko Reisser (DAIM), Mark Ryden, Solomostry, Giacomo Spazio, Sten&Lex, Swoon, Kazuki Takamatsu, Stella Tasca, Ed Templeton, Yosuke Ueno, Nick Walker, WK Interact.

Eine zweite Ausstellung ― Writing a Roma, 1979-2017, kuratiert von Christian Omodeo, widmet sich der Beziehung zwischen Rom und dem Writing. Die Ausstellung fokussiert das Thema Graffiti Writing in Rom entlang einer Zeitschiene, die im Dezember 1979 beginnt, als die Medusa Galerie Graffiti zum erstem Mal außerhalb Amerikas präsentierte.
Gezeigt werden Arbeiten und Fotos von: Lee Quinones, Fab 5, Henry Chalfant, Napal, Brus, Jon, Koma, Rebus, Imos, Valerio Polici, Stefano Pane Monfeli, Joe Franceschi, Nico Proietti, Alessandro Scarful Maida, Emiliano Stand Cataldo.

_

Zur Ausstellung Cross the Streeets wird ein Fanzine veröffentlicht, das Interviews, Neuigkeiten aus der Kunstwelt und begleitende Aktivitäten und Services enthält. Ebenso wird ein Katalog erscheinen, der vom römischen Verlagshaus DRAGO produziert wird. Der Katalog wird Photographien aller Arbeiten beinhalten und Texte zu diesen sowie Behind-the-scenes Details zur Arbeit der Kuratoren und der Mitarbeiter des Museums.

Parallel zur Ausstellung wird es eine Reihe von Lesungen zu Themen geben, die der Street und Urban Art entlehnt sind, wie Künstlerrechte, Urheberrechts-Belange, Legalität und Erhaltung sowie Ikonographie, Semiotik im Graffiti Writing und die Beziehung zwischen Künstler und Betrachter. Die Reihe wird von May bis Oktober stattfinden.

  • Eröffnung: Samstag, 6. Mai 2017, 18.00 bis 20.00 Uhr
  • Eröffnungsfeier: Samstag, 6. Mai 2017, 20.30 Uhr
  • Ausstellungsdauer: 7. Mai 2017 bis 1. Oktober 2017

MACRO – Museum für zeitgenössische Kunst
MACRO Sala and Sala Bianca – Via Nizza 138, Rom / Italien
museomacro.org